Government Hoopes Prize Winners 2018

May 3, 2018

Marie Becker '18, Sally Marsh '18, Yousra Neberai '18, and Caroline Tervo '18 have won the Hoopes Thesis Prize. Congratulations!

  • Marie Becker, “The United Space: Transnational Expert Networks and Cooperation in Space between the U.S. and the U.S.S.R. during the Cold War”
  • Sally Marsh, “How Manistee Flipped: Understanding the 2016 Trump and Clinton Campaigns through One Pivotal Michigan County”
  • Yousra Neberai, “A Dilemma of Diversity? The Relationship...
Read more about Government Hoopes Prize Winners 2018

Eliza DeCubellis '17 Wins Hoopes Prize

May 4, 2017

Eliza DeCubellis '17 has won the Hoopes Thesis Prize for her thesis "Activism Under Authoritarianism: Breaking Ground on Domestic Violence in China." Congratulations!

Asia Stewart '18 named as a 2017 APSA Ralph Bunche Summer Institute (RBSI) Scholar.

April 5, 2017

Asia Stewart '18 has been named as a 2017 APSA Ralph Bunche Summer Institute (RBSI) Scholar. Congratulations!

The Ralph Bunche Summer Institute (RBSI), now in its 31st year, is an annual, intensive five-week program held at Duke University. It is designed to introduce to the world of doctoral study in political science those undergraduate students from under-represented racial and ethnic groups or those interested in broadening participation in political...

Read more about Asia Stewart '18 named as a 2017 APSA Ralph Bunche Summer Institute (RBSI) Scholar.

Susan Pharr wins the 2016 Japan Foundation Award

August 31, 2016

Susan Pharr  is to receive the Japan Foundation Award for 2016, which recognizes individuals who through their artistic contribution or scholarship, along with their  work in promoting intellectual and cultural exchanges,  contribute to building ties between Japan and the rest of the world.

Previous awardees include Senator William Fulbright, originator of the Fulbright Program;  Boston Symphony Orchestra conductor Seiji Ozawa; and writer Haruki Murakami. Scholars who have received the award include John Whitney Hall, Yale; Ronald Dore, Imperial College; Arthur...

Read more about Susan Pharr wins the 2016 Japan Foundation Award

Tabata de Pontes '16 wins Maxwell Prize

May 12, 2016

"The Politics of Education Reform in Brazilian Municipalities" has won the DRCLAS Maxwell Thesis Prize, awarded to the best Harvard College senior thesis on a subject related to Brazil. Congratulations!

Erica Sims '16 wins DRCLAS Hutchins Prize

May 9, 2016

"Racial Barriers to Voting: An Empirical Study of Precinct Locations in Florida" has won the Hutchins Senior Thesis Prize, awarded by the David Rockefeller Center for Latin American Studies (DRCLAS) to recognize the Harvard College senior who writes the best thesis on a subject concerning Latinos in the U.S. Congratulations!